The Beginning: Bitten by the Travel Bug

I would classify myself as a novice traveller.

Till this point, I have visited only the Asia-Pacific (Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Australia).

Furthest destination which I have gone to is Melbourne, Australia (7+ hours flight away). It also happens to be my longest trip; a mere ten days.

I started to travel overseas rather late in life. If my memory didn’t fail me, my first overseas trip was probably in 2005/2006 when I was already 20/21. First few trips were with my boyfriend at that time (note: now ex-boyfriend). We went to Bintan (Indonesia), Phuket (Thailand), Bali (Indonesia) and Taipei (Taiwan).

I guess that’s how it started. I have been bitten by the travel bug ever since…

After we broke up, there was nobody to travel with for quite a while. I waited & waited.

Tried planning trips with girlfriends but somehow always failed as everyone else had their own family, boyfriend/husband, own work schedules, different destination & budget in mind.

It was extremely frustrating. & after 1-2 years I decided that I had enough of waiting around for someone to appear so that I can travel with.

My first solo trip was a birthday gift to myself.

As I grew older, I started to dislike celebrating my birthday, I don’t understand what’s all the fuss about and I didn’t enjoy being in the center of attraction either. Felt awkward.

So I decided to go somewhere alone and hopefully nobody will try to celebrate my birthday. (haha!)

As it was my first solo overseas trip, I decided to go somewhere more accessible with minimal planning required.

Just nice, a colleague of mine have just returned from Tioman (Malaysia) and he recommended it to me.

I went alone and never looked back since.

The ease and speed to reach a decision. The flexibility of my itinerary.
That sense of adventure.
When you are alone in a foreign land, you just seem to be able to take in more as compared to when you are travelling with others.
You experience total freedom & vulnerability at the same time.

& Here’s some photos from that maiden solo trip.

IMG_3802IMG_3390IMG_3290IMG_3293IMG_3744IMG_3677IMG_3282IMG_3714  IMG_3682IMG_3650IMG_4043 IMG_4013IMG_4004 IMG_3188

About iamanonconformist

"Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it's better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring." By Marilyn Monroe, 1926 -1962.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

