What is Happiness?

What is happiness?

I believe that it can be a million things but with one true & constant source – from within.

Yes. It is within. Everyone is capable of being happy if you search deep enough & if you try hard enough you will find it inside you.

Sometimes I wonder why are people so unhappy when they have so much more than me?

I am happy 95% of the time. The 5% unhappiness comes from my impatience & short temper (a major flaw of mine which I have been unable to change so far). Its more of like an annoyed feeling than actual unhappiness.

I did a StrengthsFinder Psychometric Test from Gallup. One of my top 5 traits is Positivity. It’s a company-paid course so they provide a really detailed report.

Some of the clauses which I can really relate to & extracted from the report:

“you find more good in life than many individuals do. Why? Perhaps you make a conscious effort to look for it.”

your enthusiasm is not simple naivety. You know that bad things can happen; you simply prefer to focus on the good things.”

“insulate yourself from chronic whiners & complainers, and intentionally spend time in highly positive environment that will invigorate and feed your optimism. ”

“your conviction that it is good to be alive, that work can be fun, and that no matter what the setbacks, one must never lose one’s sense of humor.”

“you pause to appreciate your own & others’ talents, knowledge, skills, or successes”

“you are a little more optimistic when you figure out why you were or were not given a particular assignment, why some decisions were made,  or why certain people behaved the way they did.”

“find ways to make everything more exciting & more vital.”

Anyway, the “chronic whiner & complainer” phrase reminds me of my mum. haha… No wonder I avoid her like plague. She is like so unhappy with her life, her children, her marriage, her job, her family etc… Everytime she talks to me, it’s like “you don’t know how difficult it is to…” then she goes on to complain about everything under the sun or to talk about how great someone else’s life is.

Sometimes, it depressed me to talk to her so I rather not. I am not able to talk or preach to her like I do to my friends because she thinks that just because she have given birth to me & that she lived longer than me, she knows better than me & that her way is the only way & the correct way. It’s a serious annoyance of mine. Argh… & I wonder that if her life is so miserable then why did she bring me to this world to suffer too??? I don’t understand. Maybe I need to talk to her again…

Okay, enough with my complaints.

Let’s share some quotes on happiness:

“Happiness is not a matter of good fortune or worldly possessions. It’s a mental attitude. It comes from appreciating what we have, instead of being miserable about what we don’t have. It’s so simple yet so hard for the human mind to comprehend.” Bits and Pieces

“I have learned to seek my happiness by limiting my desires, rather than attempting to satisfy them.”
John Stuart Mills

“There is only one way to happiness, and that is to cease worrying things which are beyond the power of our will.” Epictetus

“Happiness is acceptance.” Anonymous

“Much happiness is overlooked because it doesn’t cost anything.” Anonymous

“Some pursue happiness; others create it.” Anonymous

“In our daily lives, we must see that it is not happiness that makes us grateful,
But the gratefulness that makes us happy.”
Albert Clarke

What I have come to realize is that desires, dreams & wants are unlimited.
Therefore, its more important for me to focus on what I have and count the little blessings in life.
There will always be difficult, unpleasant & unwelcomed situations in life; but I chose to live life as & when it comes and adapt when required.
I eat, drink & party. I enjoy, indulge, waste myself in whatever I want & whenever I can, as long as it makes me happy.

This is my way to happiness.

What about you??? What’s happiness to you?

About iamanonconformist

"Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it's better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring." By Marilyn Monroe, 1926 -1962.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

