How to cope with sadness?

I can’t.
I don’t know how to.
I freaked out.

I don’t know what’s appropriate to say or what’s not?
It’s so awkward.

Time like this when I focus on all the other stuff other than the sadness.

My aunt was just discharged from ICU & I went to visit her (because my mum asked me to & my brother is accompanying me).

She just replaced the valve & 5 of her veins in her heart.

What do you say to someone who have just went through all that & narrowly escaped death???

I didn’t know or understand how she felt but it must have very painful & scary.

There were needles & tubes all over her body.
Bruises & blue-blacks where the previous needle marks were at.
I see a huge, red & angry-looking gash peeking out around the chest area beneath the patient’s robe.
Another long purple line from the ankle to the thigh. That’s where the doctor took the veins from to replace those in her heart.

She couldn’t move, eat or talk much.
& she had to call for the help of the nurse when she needed to pee.

What do you say to someone like that???

I was dumb-founded. Speechless.
A talkative person like me & for once I had nothing to say…

I believe that at times like this, words are superfluous.
And, I wasn’t that close to her whereby I can just offer her a hug, pat on the back or just hold her hands.

It was just weird & awkward.

& I just felt so relieved when I left the hospital.

I believe I am an emotional & empathetic person.
But when faced with death, loss, pain, sadness & hurt etc.
I think I really don’t how to feel or react.

It’s probably time to learn…

About iamanonconformist

"Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it's better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring." By Marilyn Monroe, 1926 -1962.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to cope with sadness?

  1. Shan says:

    Just take it naturally. Maybe you were more in shock ba?

  2. I kinda of expected a scene like this which is why I always try to avoid hospitals.
    just makes me extremely depressed & freaked out… uncomfortable.

Leave a Reply

